top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuke Henne

(07.03.2020) At last, I am back in the stands!

Updated: Sep 23, 2021

It only took 141 days, and it was surely the longest nearly five-month stretch of my life, but I finally got to return to attending sporting events again today.


I took in one game of the Yinzer Baseball Confederacy league, a four-team league of former minor league and semi-pro baseball players, all stationed in nearby Washington, Pennsylvania.


It was surely the most desolate sporting event I have ever witnessed. The final box score announced an attendance of just ten spectators, and while I think a few more than that figure were in the crowd, it was the first time I could hear a pin drop in such an environment.


The game and surrounding requirements surely had its quirks. Upon entrance to Wild Things Park, I had to wear a face mask and have my temperature checked. Such is the new normal in such an abnormal period.


My nachos and cheese were handed to me in a closed brown bag, rather than in an open tray. There were no souvenir sodas today...just a bottle of Pepsi.


I asked myself if it was really worth it, to watch what one could call a patchwork league to salvage some type of baseball for the summer. That self-conversation lasted about a minute, before I knew the answer was absolutely yes.


Hell, I haven't been to a game in five months. I was going to take anything I could get. As a result, myself and the roughly two-dozen peers I shared the desolate stadium with were rewarded with a treat.


The first game of the day, featuring the traveling Baseball Brilliance Sox and the hometown Steel City Slammin' Sammies, featured a very marquee player.


Brandon Phillips, the former MLB All-Star second baseman, batted third for the Baseball Brilliance Sox. Stepping to the plate with two on and no out in the top of the first, donning his pinetar-stained Braves helmet from his 2017 season with Atlanta, Phillips BLASTED a three-run shot to left center field. Quite the treat, if I do say so myself.


A game of twists and turns resulted in a 5-4 victory for the Baseball Brilliance Sox. Rain began to damper the party, and rain would ultimately be victorious for the whole evening.


When Brendan and I entered the stadium, we knew we would be going home with a souvenir baseball or two. Brendan didn't grab any, but I did. But the way in which I got my baseball was something that stuck out to me.


In the top of the ninth, BB Sox right fielder Connor Lovejoy hit a foul ball into the bleachers just to the right of the home plate seats.


No one was in the area where it landed, and at least eight or nine people could have beaten me to it. But no one moved an inch. The ball just sat there for about a minute. No furious crowd of eight-year old kids or ballhawks there to snatch it away.


Perhaps my fellow attendees were comfortable and wanted to avoid stepping out into the rain. Perhaps they just didn't care. I can't speak to exactly what their lack of intention was, but I got the ball and brought it home.


I mention this story because it was just one weird event in a series of weird actions during this whole encounter. It was all worth it, though.


Because less than 30 people (mostly masked) were in attendance, this game did not have the feel of a real experience. But it'll be a gradual progress, and I wholeheartedly understand that. I applaud the Washington Wild Things for putting this tremendous league together.


The second game, scheduled to take place between the Road Warriors Black Sox and the Wild Things, was cancelled due to rain.


I guess even in a year of abnormality, rain delays and postponements are still very normal.


Under normal circumstances, I would be disappointed that I only got to see one game when I was supposed to see two. These aren't normal circumstances, however, and the fact that I witnessed one live sporting event is more than satisfactory.


It could be a long time before I am back in the stands again, so I soaked in every moment and every minor detail of Wild Things Park today.


Today was a victory. A very big victory. Walking through a gate, for the first time in almost five months, is a moment I will never forget.


Today was a preview of what we'll all be back to very soon. It felt great to start getting my feet wet once again today.


Welcome back, sports. I have sorely missed your presence.

Comentários


bottom of page