top of page
  • Writer's pictureLuke Henne

(05.23.2020) Eagles scout, SRU alum Jim Ward hopeful for normal NFL season

Updated: Sep 23, 2021

There are still multiple months before the 2020 National Football League season gets underway. Nonetheless, the COVID-19 pandemic could affect everyone within the league's plans.


Jim Ward, who has served as both a Midwest Area Scout and Northeast Area Scout for the Philadelphia Eagles, is no different.


"I hope we are playing with fans this fall. We just have to wait and see what the experts instruct us to do. I'm just hopeful we as a world can quickly rid ourselves of this virus," Ward told me.


Per his biography on the Eagles' website, Ward is entering his fifth season in Philadelphia. In addition to serving as a scout in two geographical regions, Ward also served as a draft consultant prior to the 2016 and 2017 NFL Drafts, keeping his eye on draft prospects from the Mid-American Conference and those at the defensive line position.


"There are going to be players that scouts are very passionate about. Players you would love to draft and you can see succeeding for your team," Ward indicated.


He understands, however, that not every noteworthy player is able to be drafted.


"We all understand that there are so many variables when it comes to drafting players. We have drafted players from my area that I was very excited about. Miles Sanders [played in high school at Woodland Hills, college at Penn State, drafted in 2019] would be an example," Ward said.


He made it clear that the evaluation process is a very intricate and detail-oriented one.


"The majority of the schools in my area require a visit. I will spend the day at the school evaluating the prospects with film evaluation and meetings to acquire information. That ends with attending and evaluating the player/players in practice. It is typically an 8 am to 6 pm day at the school," Ward clarified.


However, the process continues even further beyond these long days.


"I also attend games as another tool in evaluating the prospect. There are some schools, primarily small schools, where we will watch the film first before making a trip to campus," Ward told me.


In Ward's first full season with Philadelphia in 2017, the Eagles defeated the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII to win the franchise's first Vince Lombardi Trophy. Ward noted that it was a memory he and his family will never forget.


"We flew to Minneapolis on the Thursday before the Super Bowl and the lead up to the game was both exciting and nerve wracking. Our organization made it such a memorable experience with all that was planned. I got to go on the field prior to the game for warmups and you felt the energy. There were celebrities all over the field," Ward said.


Once Patriots quarterback Tom Brady's Hail Mary attempt failed and the Eagles won by a 41-33 score, pandemonium ensued for everyone involved. Ward was no exception.


"I'll never forget the game ending, hugging my wife and two daughters and racing to the stairs to the field, as we all had postgame passes provided by the team. To have the confetti falling on you was something I'll never forget. I got a picture with my family in front of the stage. I hope my daughters will never forget that," Ward indicated.


The festivities did not stop there, however, for Ward and the entire team.


"We got our rings four months later at a ceremony in Philadelphia and I was speechless. I probably could never put into words how special all of it was. I just know I want to do it again," Ward said to me.


In the two seasons since Philadelphia's Super Bowl victory, the Eagles have gone 9-7 in both seasons. In 2018, they defeated the Chicago Bears in the NFC Wild Card Round before falling to the New Orleans Saints in the NFC Divisional Round. In 2019, they won the NFC East, but were defeated at home by the Seattle Seahawks in the NFC Wild Card Round.


The COVID-19 pandemic forced the league to transition their draft from the traditional setting in Las Vegas to a virtual setting in Commissioner Roger Goodell's basement,


The 2020 NFL Scouting Combine took place at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis from February 23 to March 2, just days before the sports world was forced to shut down due to the pandemic. Despite the draft's transition, Ward and his staff were already well-prepared.


"The combine is just a part of the evaluation process. There is always so much more work that needs to be done prior to any decisions that are made. I believe you always have guys that fit what you are looking for leaving the combine, but you also realize that so much more work needs to be done," Ward said.


Ward has been able to see a regular role for Philadelphia at the annual combine.


"I attend each year and have duties for our club. I will sit in on interviews with players and for three seasons have been on the field for the DT [defensive tackle] workouts," Ward noted.


Ward played his college football at nearby Slippery Rock University, earning status as an All-American and senior captain in 1993.


He was signed as an undrafted free agent by the San Diego Chargers in 1994, while also spending time with the Memphis Mad Dogs of the Canadian Football League in 1995 and the Connecticut Coyotes of the Arena Football League in 1996.


"My time playing professionally outside of the NFL was memorable and I appreciated each day. You always hope it lasts longer, but things always happen for a reason. I learned quite a bit at each level," Ward told me.


In 1998, Ward returned to Slippery Rock to complete his degree in communications. In 2012, he was inducted into the university's hall of fame. Ward had nothing but praise for the time he spent on the campus.


"I would never change going to Slippery Rock. For me, personally, I met some of the best people in this world. The lifelong friendships I forged with guys that are like my brothers, professors, coaches, etc. had such a positive impact on my life. I would not change those years and it makes me realize how well Slippery Rock fit with what I needed as a person," Ward stated.


One of those men, former longtime head coach George Mihalik, stuck with Ward through his entire journey.


"My head coach, George Mihalik, was the best. Although I did not always agree with him, as a man, I now know why he would do what he did. We are close friends to this day and I have a sincere loyalty to him for who he is and what he did for me," Ward said.


Ward is married to his wife, Michele, and they have two daughters, Mackenzie and Miranda. The family lives in Jefferson Hills, Pennsylvania, just about 15 miles south of the Pittsburgh Steelers' Heinz Field.


In 2020, the Steelers are set to host the Eagles at Heinz Field for the first time since 2012. It will also be the first time Philadelphia plays in Pittsburgh since Ward was hired.


"We will not miss the Steelers game. Just this week, I was going over requests of who wants to go. That will be an exciting experience," Ward said.

Comments


bottom of page